Let Go, Let God 

I was scrolling through Twitter the other day and my beautiful friend Bri posted a series of tweets that resonated with me. It was something her previous prayer leader taught her about holding on to things that aren’t meant for us and I’m going to do my best to reiterate what she said.

So- think of something you really love and you really care about. Picture holding it in the palm of your hand and someone trying to take it away from you. You love this thing, you want to keep it, but someone is trying to take it from you so you resist and you fight back and it hurts! They’re not giving up, you’re holding it so tightly in your palm and they’re just ripping it out of your hand. So, what if you just let it go? You trust what they’re doing, you open up your palm, and you just let it go. Sometimes God gives us things that aren’t meant for us and He has to take them back. If we just open our palm, let it go, trust in Him, it won’t hurt so badly. “Simply, obediently, and gently.”

The older I get the easier this is for me to understand and obey, but I still fight it. I will have things in my life that I know I don’t have control over, that I can’t change, but I’ll do everything in my power to try because I really struggle with letting things go. I think about this in relation to my life in general and wonder about my plan and my purpose, and the more I try to control and change the more I get hurt. I don’t really know why I’m here, I don’t really know what I’m doing, but I have to stop trying to figure it out.

When I sit down to think about my faith or just faith in general, I am amazed at how underrated it seems to be. Having faith in someone or something is so extraordinarily powerful. If you identify as being a Christian, you have blind faith in something much bigger than all of us. You send your prayers up to someone you can’t hear respond, you trust in a plan that you’ve never been told about, and you do this with faith, hope & love. Why? I was raised by Christians but Christianity was never forced upon me, I was given the resources to make my own decisions about my religion and spirituality and I chose to confirm my faith through my church. I chose to follow God, and through living this “life I imagined”, I need to give so much more credit and praise to the real reason why I am here. It is part of a plan that was put together just for me, just like every other tiny little compenent of my life. All for a reason. “God will wreck your plans when He sees they are about to wreck you.” Have faith, y’all.

 

One thought on “Let Go, Let God 

Leave a Reply

